Articles / Events / People

Reflections on Mardi Gras 2015

Mardi Gras martians

The busy holiday and Mardi Gras seasons are finally over!  As we usher in Lent, I’m actually looking forward to Spring cleaning, home renovation and warmer weather.

The past couple months have been a whirlwind from Christmas to New Year’s Eve, celebrating a new life with Beau’s first birthday and life well lived at Grandma Stella’s memorial.  Of course, we capped it all off with an extraordinary Mardi Gras Day in the French Quarter!

This year’s costume theme was “Mardi Gras Martians” and I think we hit it out of the park.

Thanks to free two-day shipping with Amazon Prime (I swear they’re not paying me), I ordered inexpensive costume items and accessories from all around the world.  We already had Joey’s green suit, blazer and top hat.  After a few crafting sessions and a some serious stroller decorating, our in-style in-vasion was complete!

The partying may be over, but we have plenty to look forward to.  Our backyard is coming along, our upstairs is almost complete and our exterior facade renovation is getting underway!  I can’t wait to see what the rest of 2015 holds for both our family and our home.

 

One thought on “Reflections on Mardi Gras 2015

  1. I loved all of the photos of the Mardi Gras and your clever costumes! Thank you for sending the video of Beau and his Valentine’s Day card and his blocks. He is so sweet and it puts me in good mood when I see his cute face!

Tell me what you think!

